Message sent from:
Early Years Foundation Stage
The EYFS is the stage of children’s development from birth to the end of their Reception year.
The EYFS is based on four principles:
  1. A Unique Child: Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, confident and self-assured.
  2. Positive Relationships: Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
  3. Enabling Environments: The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
  4. Learning & Development: Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and interconnected.
Prime Areas
  • Communication and Language; developing speaking, listening and understanding
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development; developing social skills, self-confidence, self-awareness and learning how to manage feeling and behaviour
  • Physical Development; developing large motor movements such as running, jumping, throwing, catching etc., as well as fine motor movements such as mark making, writing and tracing.  Children also develop their health and self-care.
Specific Areas
  • Literacy; developing  Reading, Writing and knowledge of Phonics
  • Maths; developing  Number and Space, Shape and Measure
  • Understanding of the World; developing their knowledge of People and Communities, The World and Technology
  • Expressive Arts and Design; developing and nurturing children's creative talents through art, singing as well as developing their imaginary play skills.

Our Surrounding Area

At Livingstone, we are extrememly fortunate to be blessed with beautiful grounds backing onto the Hadley Woods. Click on the link to find out how we take advantage of our beautiful surroundings. 

Visits to the Early Years Department are always welcomed.
Please contact our office to arrange a visit.



Hit enter to search